Frontpage
Login
0 / 10,000

I’m a little worried about this; I don’t see how Bluesky can earn enough money with the platform to give investors back the ~10x return on that investment I’m sure they’re hoping for.

While "VC gonna VC", the locked open nature of the protocol and ecosystem provides many mitigations from anything super bad happening.

it's pretty lucrative to own infrastructure anywhere commerce is happening the investors will get their return, but I'm hoping atproto means the investors and users will see more equitable value from the tech 🤞

I’m hoping for the same, but… where does the “value from the tech” come from? There’s plenty of innovative work the team are doing (technically speaking, and implementation/execution-wise) but the value _only_ they offer in the long run (given sites like this one, built on ATProto 💙) seems to be the Relays (they *require* scale to work well) and high scale hosting (Bluesky’s stated subscription service plan of higher quality videos etc). Storing data is a tough sell, as there’s only so much we all need for an “in the moment” platform. Controlling the information flow (ie. The Relay)? I can see *lots* of value for a company there, but in controlling it and/or marketing to people using it (the usual, old school, tech tactics). This is what worries me! I hope there’s something I’ve missed, or something we can *make* value from for them that’s aligned with openness!

i'm hoping the data attached to identity design creates extra power for the user inherently my understanding is not complete, but i think a music streaming service on atproto would potentially request the media from the identities of artists/labels rather than hosting it themselves i'm fairly convinced that this would change the dynamic remains to be seen how that materializes

those blockchain investors might be noticing that atproto is more able to deliver on the promises of web3 (sans crypto 🤮)

its more user friendly than paying a bunch of ethereum to upload a couple of posts

crypto is so funny to me in this specific thing because it can't just be ethereum (the fees are prohibitively high), it must be some novel shitcoin you can have to buy into the company's gone south and those coins practically amount to nothing? well tough luck lmao

We don't need companies we need collaboration. If you need 13 million to "scale" your platform, why? This is why I like the fediverse. Each site owner maintains their own costs so corporations don't need to get involved

I think it’s a pointer to the challenges of moderation on ActivityPub platforms; where all the work is for admins to do, and *can’t* (currently) be shared with “users” (like it can on Bluesky with Lists being used as mute lists or blocklists, and community run labellers). They’re different methods with their own strengths and weaknesses, but I’m a fan of the “large, professional moderation + community run tooling” of Bluesky over “in-instance possibly paid moderation work + instance defederation” ActivityPub has, as it stands at the moment. It seems like *a lot* of work for large Fediverse instance admins right now (it’s why I pay my admin team!) I’m glad your instance has been less work though!

I specifically like the whole „we will not hyperfinancialize the social experience (through tokens, crypto trading, NFTs, etc.)“ part. Makes me a little less worried